Seeking Inspiration

How do you stop your inspiration from running away screaming?

It was so easy when I was in college, I read an art history book, every one told me that my work was great, my tutor told me how I could make it better which inspired me to carry on. I used to get up in the night and suddenly feel like drawing, I could draw all night providing it wasn’t a school night. I remember always struggling at first then at the last minute POOF there was my inspiration. I loved college, if only it could’ve been that way for me at university too…

I had guidelines back then though, like a trail of bread crumbs leading me to the finish line with detailed project objectives on what I needed to do, and all I had to do was find my own way of completing the work. It’s much harder now. Not knowing the direction I’m heading towards is challenging. How can you be inspired to do nothing? I want to do something but not knowing what devalues it before I’ve even found what it is.

I know that I’m not a nine to five person, I’m not a retail servant. The best part of my day is coming home to my office and my desk and my bag of fabric scraps, my mood board, my craft books and my foot stool (my feet always hurt). If I could come up with a way of working where this is where I could be all of time and that I could pick it up when I felt inspired to do it, then I’d feel that I would have accomplished something.

Unfortunately I’ve already investigated that there is no money (at least not enough to live on) in making patch work cushions or birthday cards, and no one is employing people to work from home, so I need to keep looking.

Leave a Reply

