Merry Christmas!

If a mind reader walked in on me while mentally telling my customers to ‘F’ off, I would have no customers by New Years. I resent today. Last day but one before I get to have a six day break from strangers and paperwork, I just cannot wait to leave work tomorrow evening, I think I may skip out of here ringing bells and trailing glitter. It’s not that I’m having a bad time, there’s barely anyone here, it’s just the anticipation is making me bitter and I feel like there are so many things I need to do at home to get ready for Christmas, that my time is wasted here standing around waiting for people to buy something. 

We don’t sell Christmas presents and only have a few decorations left but everyone has finished with all that now and they’re getting into the shopping big time which means no one is going to be coming here unless they’re walking by after buying their newspaper from the convenience store a few doors away.

I’m almost ready, I think… maybe… in other words I know that I’m forgetting something but I’m hoping that it’s nothing major, I think it’s because the turkey hasn’t arrived yet and I’m missing an integral part of Christmas dinner. The bird will arrive on Friday so I’m guessing that if there’s anything else I’ve forgotten that will pop in my head as soon as I see my turkey roasting in the oven, which of course is too late to do anything about it. 

I was told last night that I worry too much, but at Christmas there is so much to remember and so much to do, it wouldn’t shock me if I managed to push something off the memory list of less importance than turkey and presents.

Left on my list at the moment, in no particular order;

  • Wrap 5 remaining presents
  • Bake a cake for Christmas Eve get-together
  • Deliver cards
  • Food shopping
  • Buy one present for a neighbour we forgot
  • Collect bread rolls from bakery
  • Housework
  • Clean the car (it’s disgraceful)
  • Cook my first Christmas turkey and try not to panic!

Well I am panicking and I am worrying that when that day comes and the country closes down for the day that there is something I’m going to need that I’m not going to be able to get, something for the dinner or another present to feminine products or paracetamol, there is something I will need that I won’t have accounted for.

Oh well. 

Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays and thank you for reading.

X

Leave a Reply

